BYU Faculty Women's Association Awards


The philosophy of the  awards given each year by the Faculty Women's Association is to recognize women who have made a valuable contribution at the international, national, regional, state, community levels and to the university, and their respective colleges and departments.

There are many women on our campus who have made outstanding contributions who do not qualify for other university awards but should be recognized for their efforts and accomplishments by the entire university community. The Faculty Women's Association awards allow another avenue for women to be recognized for their contributions.

Award winners are honored at the annual Spring Retreat. 

Please consider nominating a woman colleague for a Faculty Women's Assocation award.. The deadline is February 28, 2018 (Wednesday) 

Name of Nominee: __________________________ Department: __________________________________

Award Being Nominated for: __________________________________ Number of years at BYU_______

Please provide the nominee’s CV and short explanation of why she is deserving of this Award.

Nomination letter should be no more than ONE-page.

Your Name: ______________________ Your Telephone #: __________________________

Your Email: ______________________________________________               


Criteria for FWA Awards*

Teaching: Expert knowledge and/or skills in the content of the courses taught as evaluated by students, colleagues, and administrators. Dedication to teaching excellence and rigor in terms of course organization, class preparation, teaching methods, examinations, out-of-class advisement of students, and evaluation of student work.

Scholarship: Publication record in scholarly (refereed) journals or national journals that have a formal editorial review process and/or publication of scholarly books and monographs. The presentation of scholarship or other types of scholarly and professional work at international, national, or regional professional meetings. Established reputation as a scholar.

Creative Work: Established reputation as an artist and presentation of artistic work in major performances or exhibits at the university, district, regional, national, and international level. Or reputation as an innovator who creates significant programs or projects that fall outside the normal definition of scholarship but which have an impact at the university, district, regional, national, and/or international level.

Citizenship: Ongoing record of contributions made at the community, state, district, national, and/or international levels. A record of contributions made at the university, college, and departmental levels, and professional organizations and associations within an area of expertise. Influence on and support of women on campus. Support and service to the Faculty Women's Association.

Mentoring: Outstanding record of mentoring students beyond the classroom.  Can also be an ongoing commitment and effort to mentor colleagues, especially through support of newer faculty who are working to achieve their goals in scholarship, teaching or citizenship.

Adjunct Faculty: Contribution to the University community and academic department through exemplary service over a period of time.  Impact may be observed in teaching, scholarship, creative work, mentoring, or citizenship.  Influence which help students achieve the aims of a BYU education and fosters dedication to life-long learning.

*FWA Board members are not eligible for an award while serving on the board. 

Outstanding Faculty Woman Award 
Maren M. Mouritsen 1996 
Kate L. Kirkham 1997 
Ida Smith 1998 
Charlene Lind 1999
Donna Fosbinder 2000

The FWA award was expanded in 2001 to include an award in different areas of contribution.

Shauna Anderson - Scholarship
Connie Blakemore - Citizenship
Sharon Swenson - Creative Work
Marie Tuttle - Teaching

Kay Franz - Citizenship
Diane Strong-Krause - Teaching
JoAnn Valenti - Scholarship

Renea Beckstrand - Teaching
Lisa Norton - Citizenship
Michelle Stott-James - Scholarship

Lynn Callister - Scholarship
Cecelia Fielding - Creative Work
Kristine Hansen - Citizenship
Eva Stoneman - Teaching

Tina Dyches - Teaching
Sara Lee Gibb - Citizenship
Barta Heiner - Creative Work
Susanne Olsen - Scholarship

Mary Anne Prater - Scholarship
Cheryl Preston - Creative Work
Elaine Walton - Citizenship
Mary Jane Woodger - Teaching

Barbara Culatta - Scholarship
Susanne Davis - Creative Work
Rae Jeanne Memmott - Citizenship
Barbara Smith - Teaching

Kristie Seawright - Scholarship
Colleen West - Creative Work
Beverly Zimmerman - Citizenship
Michelle Marchant - Teaching

Janet Walter - Teaching
Barbara Mandleco - Citizenship
Deborah Himes - Creative Work
Laura Bridgewater - Scholarship

Marie Tuttle - Teaching
Bonnie Ballif-Spanvill - Citizenship
Elizabeth Hopkins - Creative Work
Betty Ashbaker - Scholarship

Kif Augustine-Adams - Teaching
Amy Jensen - Citizenship
Julie Hite - Scholarship
Megan Sanborn Jones - Creative Work

Kristin Matthews - Teaching
Donna Lee Bowen - Scholarship
Nora Nyland - Citizenship
Bonnie Anderson - Citizenship
Shani Robison - Creative Work

Beth Hendengren - Citizenship
Allyson Washburn - Citizenship
Jessica Purcell - Scholarship
Ellie Young - Teaching

Wendy Baker-Smemoe - Mentoring
Jani Radebaugh - Scholarship
Julie Duncan - Adjunct Faculty
Ana Mitchell - Adjunct Faculty
Connie Lamb - Citizenship

Melissa Heath - Mentoring
Donna Freeborn - Teaching
Laura Walker - Research
Betty Ashbaker - Citizenship
Mary Rasband - Adjunct Faculty

Julianne Grose - Scholarship
Cherice Montgomery - Teaching
Loreen Allphin - Citizenship
Julie Haupt - Adjunct Faculty
JoAnn Munk - Adjunct Faculty

Rosemary Thackery - Scholarship
Dawan Coombs - Teaching
Delys Snyder - Citizenship
Pauline Williams - Citizenship
Jenn Larson - Adjunct Faculty
Sarah Coyne - Mentoring


Jill Larsen - Adjunct Faculty
Mikaela Dufur - Citizenship
Angela Bradford - Mentoring
Bonnie Anderson -Scholarship
Gaye Ray - Teaching

Connie Lamb - Lifetime Service Award
Nancy Turley - Adjunct Faculty
Jennifer Nielson - Citizenship
Rickelle Richards - Citizenship
Cammy Peterson - Mentoring
Candace Berrett - Scholarship
Amy Tanner - Teaching